UCU Strike #2: Thursday 24th March 2011


On Thursday 24th academics across the UK will be on strike. Withholding their labour is the only power Glasgow University staff seem to have left: management ignore their Senate, they close their departments without proper consultation, and they bully them in private. Staff are what make the University what it is, their jobs are our education, their conditions, self-confidence and well-being directly effect the quality of our degrees. This is one day off from our courses, but it could help to protect the quality of Scottish education for future generations. So please, come along to the pickets on the 24th to support your staff at your University. If you can’t make it, please don’t cross picket-lines, don’t use University facilities on the 24th. If you can make it down at 7am (when staff will be out!), come help on the pickets providing soup, tea and coffee to our staff.

These institutions will be on strike:

Abertay Dundee, University of
Aberystwyth University
Anglia Ruskin University
Aston University
Bangor University
Bath Spa University
Bath, University of
Bedfordshire, University of
Birkbeck College
Birmingham, University of
Bishop Grosseteste University College Lincoln
Bolton, The University of
Bournemouth University
Bradford, University of
Brighton, The University of
Bristol, University of
Brunel University
Buckinghamshire New University
Canterbury Christ Church University
Cardiff University
Cardiff, University of Wales Institute
Central Lancashire
Central School of Speech and Drama
Chester, University of
Chichester, The University of
Courtauld Institute of Art
Coventry University
Cranfield University
De Montfort University
Derby, University of
Dundee, The University of
Durham, University of
East Anglia, The University of
East London, The University of
Edge Hill University
Edinburgh, The University of
Essex, The University of
Exeter, The University of
Glamorgan, The University of
Glasgow Caledonian University
Glasgow School of Art
Glasgow, The University of
Gloucestershire, The University of
Glyndwr University
Goldsmiths College
Greenwich, The University of
Harper Adams University College
Heriot-Watt University
Hertfordshire, The University of
Huddersfield, The University of
Hull, The University of
Imperial College
Institute of Education
Keele, The University of
Kent, The University of
King’s College London
Kingston University
Lancaster, The University of
Leeds College of Music
Leeds Metropolitan University
Leeds Trinity and All Saints
Leeds, The University of
Leicester, The University of
Lincoln, The University of
Liverpool Hope University
Liverpool John Moores University
Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine
Liverpool, The University of
London Metropolitan University
London School of Economics and Political Science
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
London South Bank University
Loughborough University
Manchester, The University of
Middlesex University
Napier University
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, The University of
Newman College of Higher Education
Newport, Wales
Northampton, The University of
Northumbria at Newcastle, The University of
Norwich University College of the Arts
Nottingham, The University of
Oxford Brookes University
Oxford, The University of
Plymouth, The University of
Portsmouth, The University of
Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh
Queen Mary
Queen Mary College (UL)
Ravensbourne College of Design and Communication
Reading, The University of
Roehampton University
Rose Bruford College
Royal Agricultural College
Royal College of Art
Royal College of Music
Royal Holloway, University of London
Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama
Salford, The University of
Sheffield Hallam University
Sheffield, The University of
Southampton Solent University
Southampton, The University of
St Andrews, The University of
St George’s Hospital Medical School
St Mary’s University College
St Mary’s University College, Twickenham
Staffordshire University
Stirling, The University of
Stranmillis University College
Strathclyde, The University of
Sunderland, The University of
Surrey, The University of
Sussex, The University of
Swansea Metropolitan University
Swansea University
Teesside, The University of
Thames Valley University
The City University
The Manchester Metropolitan University
The Nottingham Trent University
The Open University
The Queen’s University of Belfast
The Robert Gordon University
The Royal Veterinary College
The School of Oriental and African Studies
The School of Pharmacy
Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance.
Trinity University College, Carmarthen
Ulster, The University of
University Campus Suffolk
University College Birmingham
University College Falmouth (inc Dartington Coll.)
University College London
University College Plymouth St Mark and St John
University for the Creative Arts
University of Cumbria
University of London (Institutes and activities)
University of the Arts, London
University of Wales Trinity St David
Warwick, The University of
West of England, University of the
West of Scotland, University of the
Westminster, The University of
Winchester, The University of
Wolverhampton, The University of
Worcester, The University of
Writtle College
York St John University
York, The University of



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s